Flourish Award 2016

17th September – 29th October 2016

West Yorkshire Print Workshop is pleased to announce details of our annual Flourish exhibition which runs from 17th September until 29th October.  Established in 2009 to champion printmakers working throughout Yorkshire, Flourish now celebrates work from across the UK, with an exhibition of artists selected from open submission.

The exhibition brings together a wide range of prints made by artists shortlisted for this year’s award, selected by an independent panel of judges. Helen Waters, Director at Alan Cristea Gallery London; Katherine Jones, artist and printmaker; and Ruth Gamble, Huddersfield Art Gallery manager, have carefully considered art works submitted from all over the country.  Their selection presents a diverse, rich and imaginative group of 14 printmakers on display at the WYPW gallery in Mirfield.

The winner of the Flourish Award will receive a year’s free membership at West Yorkshire Print Workshop and the chance to present a solo print exhibition at Huddersfield Art Gallery in Autumn 2017.

The judges will also award prizes to highly commended artists in the exhibition, kindly donated by Great Art, Jackson’s Art Supplies, Intaglio Printmaker, and Hawthorn Printmaker Supplies.

Visitors to the exhibition are invited to select their own favourite for our People’s Choice Award, which will be announced at the end of the exhibition.

 Shortlisted artists for the Flourish Award 2016 are:

 Amy-Jane Blackhall, Neil Bousfield, Christina France Crews, Antony Cross, Sumiko Eadon, Nadia Francis, Michael Griffiths, Robert Hart, Melanie King, Moira McTague, Peter Moseley, Myra Ryan, Mike Smith, Yuet Yean Teo.

The winner of the Flourish Award 2015, Sumi Perera, is currently showing her work at Huddersfield Art Gallery.  Her exhibition, ‘Liminal Spaces’, is on display until 15th October.


Congratulations to #flourishaward Award 2016 winner Amy-Jane Blackhall; Great Art prize winner Neil Bousfield; Jackson’s Art prize winner Nadia Francis; and Hawthorn Print Supplies/Great Art Student prize winner Antony Cross!